Helena Fourment

Portrait of Rubens's second wife, summer of 1637

I refresh myself and choose my newest pearl earrings. I received them from Peter Paul for my saint's day. It’s in August but he couldn't wait to give them to me. Anneke ties the silk ribbons on my sleeves into bows and gets my summer cloak. As soon as the carriage arrives, we can leave. I look into the mirror. My hair is artfully pinned up, my cheeks blush.

Don't move Clara, yes, like that - with the mask next to your face. Sit still a while longer, Frans, it won't take too long. Careful Anneke, make sure Isabella doesn't fall, hold on to her, what were you thinking, she can't walk that far yet. I should mention to Peter Paul that Anneke is not the most orderly of nannies. It's summer, I am wearing my white dress and light hat. Frans looks so pretty with his velvet beret. He must be the prettiest boy in Antwerp, with his large, dreamy eyes.

 

My husband quickly sketches

 “Perfect”, says Peter Paul, “just continue to look at him while he looks at me. It makes the portrait livelier.” My husband quickly sketches them, adding a hint of colour here and there. When he will paint the actual large-format portrait, the atmosphere of this July day will be visible, palpable forever. Look: he's already finished the sketch. Good. I put down Frans, and wipe something off his beret. Clara runs into the garden. She's very good at it, she's already five years old. Anneke picks up Isabella and takes her for a nap, in the room with our new-born, whom we named Peter Paul. "What a luxury", my husband said at the time, "to have so many sons that I can even give one my own first name. Who knows, one day, he may become a painter." We are truly blessed.

 

The last weeks of summer

Soon we will leave to our Steen again, for the last lovely weeks of summer. I really look forward to it. Life there is so peaceful. Peter Paul doesn't have to work so hard and I can play with the children as long as I want to. We ride the horses, and in the meantime Peter Paul sketches the landscape. He uses the sketches to produce tiny paintings for his own pleasure, with our farmland and a rainbow, our farmland in the first sun after a shower, so fresh-looking and so expansive. In his studio in the tower, with the amazing views. We're in Antwerp for the week. I'll be visiting my sister later and Peter Paul wants to answer some letters that arrived for him. 

 

Helena after Rubens's death

Peter Paul Rubens died on 30 May 1640. He was 62 years old. Helena became a young widow, at the age of 26, after just ten years of marriage. Nine months after Rubens died, she gave birth to a daughter, Constantia Rubens. A few years later, Helena married Master Jan Baptist van Broechoven van Bergeyck, with whom she had six children. The eldest child was probably born out of wedlock.

Helena died on 15 July 1673 in Brussels. Her remains were buried on 4 August 1673 in the Rubens Chapel in St. James' Church in Antwerp.

On the day she died her husband wrote the following to a family member: “… I just tragically lost my wife, Mrs de Bergeyck, my dear companion. It pleased God to call her to him on 15 July. She received the holy sacraments of the Church with exemplary piety. She endured a long and painful illness without complaining displaying proper Christian patience. She resigned herself fully to God's will and until her last breath she was granted the grace of her faculties by the divine will."

Helena Fourment

Portrait de la seconde épouse de Rubens, été 1637

Je me rafraîchis un peu et je choisis mes nouvelles perles d’oreilles. Je les ai reçues de Pierre Paul pour ma fête. Ce n’est qu’en août mais il ne pouvait pas attendre pour les donner. Anneke repasse les rubans en soie de mes manches et m’apporte ma mante d’été. Nous pourrons partir dès que le carrosse sera prêt. Je me regarde dans le miroir. Mes cheveux sont relevés lâchement, mes joues sont roses.

Reste immobile, oui, Claartje, comme cela, avec le petit masque à côté de ton visage. Reste encore un peu tranquille, Frans, ça ne va plus durer très longtemps. Fais attention, Anneke, qu’Isabella ne tombe pas, tiens-la bien, à quoi penses-tu, elle ne peut pas marcher si loin. Je dois dire à Pierre Paul qu’Anneke est parfois une gouvernante négligente. C’est l’été, je porte ma robe blanche et un léger chapeau ; Fransje est très beau avec son béret en velours. C’est décidément le plus beau garçon d’Anvers avec ses grands yeux rêveurs.

 

Mon époux dessine vite

“Parfait!”, dit Pierre Paul, “regarde-le encore un peu pendant qu’il me regarde, cela donne de la vie au portrait.” Il dessine rapidement, mon époux, il ajoute çà et là une touche de couleur ; et quand il fait le portrait en grand format, l’ambiance de cette journée de juillet est visible et palpable pour la prospérité. Regardez: le croquis est déjà prêt. Bien. Je dépose Fransje et j’enlève une plume de son béret, notre Clara court dans le jardin, elle se débrouille très bien pour ses cinq ans. Anneke soulève Isabella et l’emmène faire une sieste, dans la chambre de notre dernier-né ; nous l’avons baptisé Pierre Paul. “Quelle richesse,” a dit alors mon époux, “d’avoir tant de fils que je peux en appeler un de mon propre nom. Et peut-être qu’il deviendra peintre.” Nous sommes bénis.

 

Les dernières semaines de l’été

Nous retournons bientôt dans notre Steen pour les dernières belles semaines de l’été. Je m’en réjouis, Pierre Paul ne doit pas tant travailler et je peux jouer avec les enfants aussi longtemps que je veux. Nous faisons des tours à cheval, et en route, Pierre Paul croque le paysage. Il en fait de petits tableaux pour son plaisir, avec nos terres et un arc-en-ciel, nos terres au premier soleil après une averse, si frais et si grands. Dans son atelier dans la tour, avec une vaste vue. Nous ne sommes à Anvers que pour une semaine, je vais rendre visite à ma sœur et Pierre Paul veut tranquillement répondre à des lettres qu’il a reçues.

 

Helena après la mort de Rubens

Pierre Paul Rubens meurt le 30 mai 1640; il a 62 ans. Après dix ans de mariage, Helena est une jeune veuve de 26 ans. Neuf mois après le décès de Rubens, elle donne la vie à une petite fille Constantia Rubens. Quelques années plus tard, Helena épouse jonkheer Jan Baptist van Broechoven van Bergeyck, avec qui elle aura six enfants, l’aîné sans doute hors du mariage.

Helena décède le 15 juillet 1673 à Bruxelles ; sa dépouille est déposée le 4 août 1673 dans la chapelle Rubens en l’église Saint-Jacques.

Son époux écrit le jour de son décès à un membre de sa famille: “… j’ai perdu de manière douloureuse madame de Bergeyck, ma chère compagne, le bienheureux Dieu l’a rappelée auprès de lui le 15 juillet. Elle a reçu avec une piété exemplaire les saints sacrements de l’Eglise. Elle a supporté avec une patience inouïe et très chrétienne une longue et douloureuse maladie, elle s’est entièrement pliée à la volonté divine et Dieu dans Sa miséricorde lui a laissé jusqu’à son dernier souffle la grâce de ses facultés.“