Maria Pypelinckx

Portrait of Rubens's mother, September 1608

Come, sit with me near the open fire, I'll tell you all about my life. I lived in interesting times. You know what that usually means: calamity. But you know, there are so many calamities, and we people have to soldier on courageously. And I really did, I mean it.

Maria Pypelinckx

Come, sit with me near the open fire, I'll tell you all about my life. I lived in interesting times. You know what that usually means: calamity. But you know, there are so many calamities, and we people have to soldier on courageously. And I really did, I mean it.

My name is Maria Rubens. I tend to call myself Marie. I used to leave near St. Michael's Abbey along the Scheldt, and I will be buried in the abbey church. I often think of this, because winter is approaching and my asthma is getting worse. I can feel myself weakening.

 

My sons Filips and Peter Paul

My son Filips is a city official. He still lives with me but I expect he will get married soon. He used to compose poems in Latin for the girl of his dreams, but now he writes to her in ordinary language, it works much better. My youngest son, Peter Paul, lives in Rome. He receives important commissions there, he is working on a magnificent painting for the most beautiful church in Rome but I would love to see him again. If he doesn't come soon, it will be too late. And so I lay here dreaming, under a fur coverlet, near the fire: I just can't get warm anymore.

 

My husband Jan used to smell so nice

My father used to trade in tapestries. Stunning fabrics for decorating cold walls, woven tapestries full of animals, plants, heroes from Antiquity, knights and saints. Tapestries woven with gilt thread, which shines in the light of the fire, the candles, and the torches in winter time. I used to enjoy looking at them. Our tapestries were woven in Brussels and were very precious. My father also traded in Turkish tapestries, without plants, animals or people in them, but with lawns and roads, and the colours of flowers: beautifully landscaped gardens, which you could spread out on the floor. Oh, he used to do very well for himself. And I enjoyed a carefree youth in our vibrant city of Antwerp. Here I fell in love with a handsome, promising young man. Jan Rubens. His father was a pharmacist and Jan had studied law in Italy. He smelled nice, like the herbs in his father's shop. I was so proud of him! And everyone in Antwerp appreciated his qualities: he was an alderman of the city for five years, to everyone's satisfaction. But unrest was brewing. And then the Iconoclasm happened.

 

The flight to Cologne

Jan was already of the opinion that something had to change in society. He became a follower of Calvin. Like Calvin, he had studied law and he agreed with everything that Calvin wrote about the disgusting workshop of idols in churches and our enslavement by Rome.  Many people in the town council agreed with him. When the Calvinists stormed the churches in the city and ruined all the statues and paintings, in the magnificent year of 1566, the town council in effect never intervened. And we were happy, because we wanted to use the churches as improved, purified houses of prayer for ourselves. The ordinary people would soon follow suit, we thought. Jan thought that the Prince of Orange, the most important nobleman in our region, would be able to allay people's fears and give the Calvinists what they wanted. But then our king dispatched the Duke of Alva to the Netherlands. And we were on his black list. Jan did not wait for him to arrive, he had me pack some necessities, I even had to leave behind the children's toys and we fled to Cologne.

 

The seductress

I hated being a refugee. Without any guarantees, without a profession, without a status. The wife of the Prince of Orange also lived in Cologne. She was German, her name was Anna of Saxony. She asked my husband for legal advice. I was relieved: he would be able to practice his profession again and make important friends. But the princess was an unhappy, fickle woman. She seduced my husband. She became pregnant. In the spring of 1571. And the prince's brothers captured Jan and locked him up in a dungeon of their ancestral castle, Dillenburg.

 

The treachery

I had no idea. From one day into another, my husband had disappeared and I only found out weeks later what had happened. Can you imagine, dear passer-by, how I must have felt?  There I was, all by myself, with small children, in a foreign city. My husband had betrayed me. Me, and the Prince of Orange. And our children. My world fell to pieces.

But I had to remain strong. After some time, my husband was granted permission to write me a letter. In it he begged for my forgiveness. He no longer had any courage and he was hoping for a timely death, I could sense it. The fragments of my heart broke again. And so I forgave him. He was the father of my children. We had always had a good understanding.  I fought back. With the few resources I had as a woman. I wrote letters to the men who held him captive begging for his release. I consoled my husband with letters, I inspired courage. "How could I be so harsh to trouble you in these times of despair and fear? I would like to help you out of there, with my own blood, if only I could and now I no longer write "you worthless man", because I have forgiven you." I paid people.  With my money, our money, the money of our family. I managed to buy my husband's freedom, and reduced our family to poverty. I had to wait for two years before he was released from the fortress. But he was sentenced to house arrest, in the town of Siegen. The princess had since had his child, a daughter. She became insane. My husband was only released when she died, in 1577, and we were granted permission to return to Cologne. My Filips, my Peter Paul, they were born in Siegen, like a late gift in life.

 

A broken man

My husband was a broken man. He no longer had any resilience, no longer had the strength to work. I earned an income for us instead, I followed in my father's footsteps and started trading in goods. And when Jan died, I returned to Antwerp with my children. To the city of my father and mother. Yes, even to the Cathedral of Our Lady, whom Calvin despised so much. In 1589, I was back in the city. To never leave again. It was a difficult transition, but I was so happy to hear my native tongue again, to see my family, to give my children opportunities again. I buried the secret of Siegen deep in my heart. Filips and Peter Paul, they have no idea.

 

I hope Peter Paul returns soon

Filips sent Peter Paul a letter about my health. Oh, I hope he returns soon. That he is on his horse already, past the Alps, that I can just see him for an instant. He can paint beautiful paintings here too, many of the churches that were destroyed need new decorations. I am becoming tired, dear passer-by, leave me now, please. I must rest.

 

Epilogue

Maria Rubens died on 19 October 1608. Rubens only found out on 28 October in Rome that she was gravely ill, dropped everything and left and only arrived in Antwerp on 8 December.

Maria Pypelinckx

Portrait de la mère de Rubens, septembre 1608

Venez vous asseoir auprès du feu, je vais vous parler de ma vie. J’ai vécu à une époque intéressante. Vous savez ce que je veux dire: le malheur. Mais le malheur est de tous les temps, n’est-ce pas? Nous devons nous battre, nous autres pauvres humains. Et moi, je me suis battue.

Mes fils Filips et Pierre Paul

Mon fils Filips est secrétaire communal d’Anvers. Il vit encore avec moi, mais va se marier prochainement. Il écrivait dans le temps des poèmes en latin pour la jeune fille de ses rêves ; il lui parle maintenant dans un langage simple, cela marche beaucoup mieux ainsi. Mon plus jeune fils, Pierre Paul, vit à Rome. Il y reçoit de belles commandes, travaille sur un beau tableau pour la plus belle église romaine, mais j’aimerais le revoir. Il sera trop tard s’il ne revient pas prochainement. Et je suis là à rêver sous ma couverture de fourrure auprès du feu: j’ai toujours froid ces jours.

 

Comme il sentait bon, mon Jan

Mon père était négociant en tapisseries. De magnifiques tapisseries pour couvrir les murs froids, des tapisseries décorées de plantes, d’animaux, d’héros antiques, de chevaliers et de saints. Des tapisseries tissés de fils d’or qui brillaient à la lumière de l’âtre, des chandelles et des torches en hiver. J’aimais beaucoup les contempler. Nos tapisseries étaient tissées à Bruxelles et étaient très précieuses. Mon père était aussi négociant en tapis turcs, sans plantes, sans animaux ni hommes, mais avec des parterres, des sentiers et les couleurs des fleurs: de véritables jardins à étaler sur le sol. Oh, il gagnait bien sa vie, mon père! Et j’ai eu une jeunesse insouciante dans notre prospère ville d’Anvers. J’y suis tombée amoureuse d’un beau jeune homme promis à un bel avenir. Jan Rubens. Son père était apothicaire et Jan avait étudié le droit en Italie. Il sentait bon les épices de la boutique de son père. J’étais si fière de lui! Et tout le monde appréciait ses qualités à Anvers: il a été échevin de cette ville pendant cinq ans, à la satisfaction de tous. Puis il y a eu des troubles, et l’Iconoclastie.

 

La fuite à Cologne

Jan pensait depuis longtemps déjà que les choses devaient changer dans la société. Il devint adepte de Calvin, car Calvin était comme lui un juriste, et il souscrivait à ce que Calvin avait écrit sur la vénération outrageuse des images divines dans les églises et la tyrannie de Rome. Beaucoup pensaient comme lui au collège communal. Lorsque les Calvinistes ont attaqué les églises de la ville et ont détruit tous les tableaux, en cette fameuse année de 1566, l’administration communale les a laissé faire. Et nous étions contents, car nous voulions utiliser les églises comme des lieux de prière purifiés pour nous-mêmes. Le petit peuple suivrait. Jan pensait que le prince d’Orange, le plus éminent noble de nos contrées, apaiserait les tensions et laisserait faire les calvinistes mais notre roi envoya le duc d’Albe aux Pays-Bas. Et nous étions sur sa liste noire. Jan n’attendit pas, me fit faire nos bagages en toute hâte - j’ai même dû laisser derrière moi les jouets des enfants - et nous avons fui à Cologne.

 

La séductrice

J’ai trouvé très difficile de prendre le chemin de l’exil. Sans certitude, sans métier, sans statu ce qui s’était passé. L’épouse du Prince d’Orange vivait aussi à Cologne. C’était une Allemande d’origine, Anne de Saxe. Elle s’adressa à mon époux pour ses conseils juridiques. Je respirais enfin: il pourrait à nouveau exercer son métier et se ferait des amis importants. Mais la princesse était une femme malheureuse et instable et elle séduisit mon mari. Elle tomba enceinte. C’était au printemps 1571. Les frères du prince arrêtèrent Jean et le mirent dans un cachot de leur château familial de Dillenburg.

 

La trahison

Je n’étais au courant de rien. Un jour mon époux disparaît et je ne l’apprends que des semaines plus tard. Imaginez-vous, cher passant, ce que j’ai ressenti! J’étais seule avec des enfants en bas-âge dans une ville étrangère. Mon époux m’avait trompé. Moi et le prince d’Orange. Et nos enfants. Mon univers s’est effondré.

Mais je devais être forte. Après un temps, mon époux fut autorisé à écrire une lettre. Il me supplia de lui donner mon pardon. Il avait perdu tout courage et n’attendait qu’une mort rapide, je le sentais bien. Mon cœur s’est brisé une nouvelle fois. Et je lui ai pardonné. C’était le père de mes enfants. Nos relations avaient toujours été bonnes. Je me suis battue. Avec les faibles moyens dont je disposais. J’ai écrit des lettres suppliantes aux sieurs qui l’avaient emprisonné. Je consolais mon époux avec mes lettres, je lui donnais du courage. “Comment pourrais-je être si dure en t’en voulant pour ta grande misère et ton angoisse? Je t’aiderais avec mon propre sang si je pouvais… et ne m’écris plus que tu es un ‘scélérat’ car je t’ai pardonné.” Je me suis servie de mon argent. Mon argent, notre argent, l’argent de ma famille. J’ai acheté la liberté de mon époux et appauvri ma famille. Il fallut deux ans pour qu’il soit libéré du château-fort. Mais il était encore en résidence surveillée dans la petite ville Siegen. La princesse avait entre temps donné naissance à l’enfant de mon mari, une petite fille. La princesse était devenue folle. Lorsqu’elle mourut en 1577, mon époux fut entièrement libéré et nous fumes autorisés à retourner à Cologne. Mon Filips, mon Pierre Paul, ils sont nés à Siegen, comme un don tardif.

 

Un homme brisé

Mon époux était brisé. Il n’avait plus de ressort, plus de force. Je subvins alors aux besoins de ma famille et marchai sur les traces de mon père. Je devins négociante. Et lorsque Jan mourut, je retournai avec mes enfants à Anvers. Ma ville natale, ma ville maternelle. Oui, même à la cathédrale de Marie, la femme qui avait été tant méprisée par Calvin. En 1589, j’étais de nouveau à Anvers. Pour ne plus jamais la quitter. C’était difficile mais j’étais heureuse de retrouver ma langue maternelle, de revoir ma famille, de pouvoir donner à nouveau des chances à mes enfants. J’ai enseveli le secret de Siegen dans mon cœur. Filips et Pierre Paul n’en savent pratiquement rien.

 

J’espère que Pierre Paul reviendra vite…

Filips a envoyé une lettre à Pierre Paul pour lui faire part de ma mauvaise santé. Oh, j’espère qu’il reviendra, qu’il est déjà à cheval, qu’il a déjà franchi les Alpes, que je peux encore le voir. Ici aussi, il peut faire de beaux tableaux, beaucoup d’églises ont été détruites et ont besoin d’être décorées. Je suis fatiguée, cher passant, et je vous le demande. Je dois me reposer.

 

Épilogue

Maria Rubens décède le 19 octobre 1608. Rubens n’apprend qu’elle est gravement malade que le 28 octobre à Rome, part immédiatement et arrive à Anvers le 8 décembre.