Nicolaas Rubens

Portrait of Rubens's son, September 1655

I can hear the ducks and the swans in the moat here in my room where I lie ill in bed. I always pay attention to the calls of the birds. I have done this all my life. My father, Pietro Paolo Rubens, a knight and secretary of the Privy Council in Brussels, used to call me his little imp sometimes.

I was eight when my mother died

I was eight when my mother died. Afterwards papa travelled for years. My elder brother immersed himself in his thick books, and I would play in the stables, feeding my birds in the bird cage and watch our gardener Willem and our coachman Robert work. I really enjoyed this, tending to the animals and watching things grow.

After our mother died, papa painted me and my elder brother. Albert is carrying a thick book. I don't understand how he can spend so much time with these boring, dusty books. I'm holding an ornamental twig with bells in my hand and am playing with a goldfinch. My dear, lovely, tame goldfinch, who used to eat out of my hand. How I cried when I found him dead in his cage one morning.

 

A new mother

When I was twelve, I was introduced to my new mother, who was only four years older than me. At first I had no idea how to behave towards her. She was more of a ravishing sister than a mother. Papa bought his castle, which is called Het Steen. That is where I was happiest, in the fields and in the forests, regardless of the weather.

 

Away from Antwerp

I married a few months after papa's death. I suddenly felt that I needed to leave Antwerp, to get away from the memory of the pain that crippled his painter's hand, away from the inheritance issues and from the new suitors of the Lady Helena.  I married Constantia Helman, whom I've known all my life. She is nine years older than I am. She gives me peace of mind.  I used my inheritance to buy Hof van Rameyen, my own estate. Finally. Along a quiet road in a village. Here my wife and I live a peaceful life, far away from the politics and the intrigues of the city. I can't make small talk about paintings and antique coins. I have no ambitions for a career in Brussels. Yes, I am a country squire. No more, no less.

 

What son could have competed with such a talent?

Did papa have different ideas about my future? He wanted Albert to become a scholar and publish his work. Possibly he hoped that one of us would want to paint. But gentlemen no longer do this to earn a living. And he was such a talented man, what son could ever have competed with him? And what's more, I didn't have the gift. I just content to see reality. It is sufficient that his name lives on in the future, thanks to us. My brother has a son, I have three sons who are alive, my young half-brothers will also marry. The Rubens name will continue for quite some time.

 

I dream of my mother

My brother lives in Brussels, our stepmother lives in Brussels with her new husband. Our family has fallen apart. But Albert is on his way here, the Lady Helena is on her way, because I can feel that this fever will be my last. This illness has been dragging on since last winter. Maybe I don't have to live through another winter. I'm thirty-seven years old. That is not old. My wife enters the room on soft slippers, bringing me my food and telling me about the harvest and our tenants. I'm tired, I fall asleep. I dream of my mother whose face I no longer really remember but I would recognise her voice anywhere. I dream that papa sketches me, in between other work, in his studio. He laughs. My curls are wild because I have just been playing and I am carefree. The swans in the moat burrow their beaks into the water.

Nicolaas Rubens

Portrait du fils de Rubens, septembre 1655

J’entends les canards et les cygnes dans la douve de notre château, ici dans ma chambre où je suis alité. J’ai toute ma vie été attentif au chant des oiseaux. Mon père, Pietro Paolo Rubens, Chevalier et Secrétaire du Conseil privé de Bruxelles, dit souvent que je ne pense qu’à jouer.

J’avais huit ans quand ma mère est morte

J’avais huit ans quand ma mère est morte. Après, mon père est parti des années en voyage, mon grand frère s’est plongé dans ses gros livres, et moi, je jouais dans les écuries, nourrissais mes oiseaux dans la volière, regardais travailler Willem notre jardinier et Robert notre cocher. C’est ce que je préférais, soigner les animaux et voir pousser la nature.

Après la mort de notre mère, mon père a fait mon portrait et celui de mon grand frère. Albert porte un gros livre, je ne comprenais pas ce qu’il trouvait à ces choses poussiéreuses et ennuyeuses: moi, je tiens à la main un joli perchoir avec des clochettes et je joue avec un chardonneret. Mon beau chardonneret apprivoisé, qui mange dans ma main. Comme j’ai pleuré lorsque je l’ai trouvé mort dans sa cage un matin.

 

Une nouvelle mère

Lorsque j’ai eu douze ans, j’ai eu une nouvelle mère, qui n’avait que quatre ans de plus que moi. Je ne savais pas bien comment me comporter avec elle au début. Elle ressemblait plutôt à une très belle sœur qu’à une mère. Père a acheté son château le Steen, et c’est là que j’ai été le plus heureux, au milieu des champs et des bois par tous les temps.

 

Loin d’Anvers

Je me suis marié quelques mois après la mort de père. Je voulais tout d’un coup quitter Anvers, oublier cette douleur qui paralysait sa main de peintre, fuir les questions d’héritage et les nouveaux chevaliers servants de Dame Helena. J’ai épousé Constantia Helman, que j’ai connue toute ma vie, elle a neuf ans de plus que moi, cela me rassure. Avec mon héritage, j’ai acheté le Château de Rameyen, mon propre domaine, enfin. Il longe une route tranquille dans un village. Je vis ici en paix avec mon épouse et nos enfants, loin de la politique et des intrigues de la ville. Je ne peux pas parler de tableaux et de monnaies antiques, je ne veux pas faire carrière à Bruxelles. Oui, je suis un garçon de la campagne, ni plus, ni moins.

 

Quel fils aurait pu égaler son talent?

Mon père en aurait-il voulu autrement? Il voulait qu’Albert devient un érudit et soit publié. Il espérait peut-être que l’un de nous devienne peintre. Mais les hommes de bien ne font plus cela pour gagner leur vie ; et son talent était si grand, quel fils aurait pu l’égaler? Et puis, je n’étais pas doué. Regarder la réalité me suffit. Il me suffit que nous immortalisions son nom. Mon frère a un fils, j’ai trois fils en vie, mes jeunes demi-frères se marieront aussi: le nom Rubens sera porté longtemps encore.

 

Je rêve de ma mère

Mon frère vit à Bruxelles, notre belle-mère vit à Bruxelles avec son nouvel époux. Notre famille s’est défaite. Mais Albert est en route pour Anvers, Dame Helena est en route pour Anvers, car cette fièvre est ma dernière, je le sens. Ma maladie traîne depuis l’hiver dernier. Peut-être ne verrai-je plus l’hiver. J’ai trente-sept ans. Ce n’est pas vieux. Mon épouse entre dans la chambre sur la pointe des pieds, m’apporte à manger, me parle de la récolte et des fermiers. Je suis fatigué, je m’endors, je rêve de ma mère, dont j’ai oublié les traits du visage, mais reconnaîtrais la voix entre mille. Je rêve que mon père me dessine entre temps dans son atelier ; il rit, mes boucles sont ébouriffées par le jeu et je suis insouciant. Sur la douve, les cygnes plongent leur bec dans l’eau.