Adam de Coster

Man and Boy by Candlelight is a new, Caravaggesque acquisition for the Rubens House. It closely resembles in its style and execution the Denial of Peter by Gerard Seghers, a favourite of the museum’s visitors.

A man who is holding a burning candle looks at us sideways while the laughing youth next to him hands him a glass of wine. The painting is painted in the style of Caravaggio (1571-1610), whose work De Coster had probably seen in Rome. The fascinating chiaroscuro effects and the unpolished realism are typical of Caravaggio’s style.

Adam de Coster mainly became famous for his paintings of his night-time scenes with figures by candlelight. He is referred to as a “Pictor noctium”, i.e., a painter of the nights in an inscription on an engraved portrait. Rubens painted similar candlelight paintings.

Adam de Coster

La toile Un homme et un jeune à la lumière de la bougie est une nouvelle acquisition dans le style du Caravage, proche dans son élaboration du Reniement de Pierre de Gerard Seghers tant apprécié du public.

Un homme tenant à la main une bougie allumée nous regarde de côté, tandis qu’un jeune homme lui tend un verre de vin en souriant. La toile est peinte dans le style du Caravage (1571-1610) ; De Coster découvrit sans doute l’œuvre du peintre italien lors d’un voyage à Rome. Le style du Caravage se caractérise par de puissants effets d’ombre et de lumière (le fameux chiaroscuro) et un réalisme brut. 

Adam de Coster était surtout connu pour ses toiles de scènes nocturnes aux personnages éclairés à la bougie. Il est désigné sur un portrait gravé de lui comme pictor noctium, ‘peintre de la nuit’. Rubens produisit lui aussi des tableaux de scènes nocturnes.